Help with V5 Blocks

I’m am working on a simple posistion tracking program in V5 Blocks. The only formulas used to get the coordinates are:

X = r cos(theta)
Y = r sin(theta)

The problem with this code is when my heading changes it seems to turn the robot(red circle) around a radius. Im not very experienced with coding so any help or examples will be appreciated!

The code

Capture

Video of code running

when calculating your coords, you need to use the change in position of the encoder, not the absolute position.

3 Likes

And how would i do this? Sorry i am very new to coding.

I’m not sure how you would do this using blocks, but the way it’s done in text is to have a variable that stores the previous value of the encoders, which is updated to the current value at the very end of the loop. And then the variable storing the current value is updated at the start of the loop. What that means is that when referencing the current and previous encoder variables, the previous one is always one cycle of the loop behind the current one.

With that you can just do the current position - the past position to get the change in position.

1 Like

okay thank you. I will try doing this using lists.

Here is the code now:

After this change it is having the same problem as before but resets to the origin.

I think the issue now is that you are using multiple forever loops, so instead of doing the setting and updating of the encoder values in the right order with the coordinate setting, you’re doing it all at once in parallel. Try putting it all in the same forever loop, with setting the current encoder position first, setting the coordinates second, and then updating the past encoder position last.

note that I have no experience with block coding so I might be missing something with how the code ordering works.

I did this but it continues to reset the distance to 0, the new posistion is always the origin.