How to write code to accelerate and decelerate drive train code for autonomous

I recently have been having problems to figure out how to accelerate and decelerate the drive train during autonomous for v5 pro text. I want to slowly ramp up or ramp down the speed to make sure that it is consistent. I have tried to split the distance I want the go and redeclare the velocity but then there is a pause in-between the lines of code when I redeclare. Can someone show me a template of how to accelerate or decelerate a motor. I am a brand new programmer that knows barely nothing.

Thanks

You should try using a PID controller for this. Here is a document that will get you started:
http://georgegillard.com/documents/2-introduction-to-pid-controllers

2 Likes

I will look into that but is there any other simpler way. I wrote something using only the P in PID

P should be all you need for this. It’s pretty simple too. The I and D components are only needed if you are having issues with drift or friction.

1 Like

I actually do have issues with slight drift. I tried using only P but it didn’t work for me because I probably did it wrong.

P loops will help with the deceleration of your drivetrain, but they won’t do much for your acceleration.

You may want to look into slew rate control with a P (or PID) loop

7 Likes

Since you are new, start simple. Get the motor to work the way you want it to without worrying about how elegant the code looks.

In pseudocode, probably you want something like:

setMotorSpeed(10);
wait(20, msec);
setMotorSpeed(15);
wait(20,msec);
setMotorSpeed(20);
wait(20,msec);
// ... etc.

Recall from math/physics that “acceleration” is change in velocity over some period of time. The pseudocode above does precisely that, it changes the motor speed over some period of time.

6 Likes

It’s weird I tried that in my program but after every time I redeclare the velocity it stops the robot for half a second so its not smooth