Very Simple Very Accurate Chassis Control Code Release

Most everyone struggles with accurate base control in auton. At the highest level, 5225 developed a 3 tracking wheel solution that allowed them to set the world record in programming skills last year, and a handful of teams including 8059 and 139 have replicated their “odometry” based on a document they released last year. Team 5225 Introduction to Position Tracking Document

But at a less extreme level, for people just looking to take a step up from move.relative you may like the base control code I developed this year. Before I go any farther, I’d like to openly admit that I’m not a good coder in any capacity and my conventions and whatnot may be sloppy, but I nevertheless won 8 of my 11 autonomous periods at worlds and was overall very happy with my chassis control in auton. And when my robot did miss, it was entirely because I didn’t spend enough time tuning my constants. The results I got on the competition field were perfectly replicable on all practice fields, regardless of antistatic.

The basic philosophy of my code is that the only possible reason an encoder value would not be representative of the true position of the robot is if the wheels slip or lift off the ground. As such, code that prevents the robot from accelerating or decelerating too fast and thus has no wheel slippage results in encoder values that are perfectly representative of the true position of the robot. To prevent too high an acceleration value, I used slew rate control when speeding up and a P loop when slowing down. 9605 and 169 use a similar concept (though I haven’t seen their code) and PID with slew rate has been a concept forever, so I’m not trying to take credit for anyone else’s work. But here is mine.

int velCap; //velCap limits the change in velocity and must be global
int targetLeft;
int targetRight;

void drivePIDFn(void*){
  leftFrontDrive.tare_position(); //reset base encoders
  rightFrontDrive.tare_position();