I am new to vex coding but I have experience in C++. Tips?

I am new to Vex Robotics and I am using VEXcode text version to program our teams robot. I have experience with C++ and I am looking for general tips on how to get started and use VEXcode.

There are resources on the Vex robotics website that include support for Vexcode text.

I haven’t used VEXCode, but I would suggest looking up example code. If you already have considerable experience with c++, it should be pretty easy to tell what does what.

PS I don’t intend to say that VEXCode is bad, however, if you already have experience with c++, PROS will be super easy to learn. It’s (almost) exactly like coding pure c++. Once again, VC is still a very good IDE (compared to VCS). This just my two cents.

1 Like

Before you read through this, I just realized that this is posted in the VEX IQ section. Did you intend to post that here? If so, VEXcode IQ text has not been released yet, so you won’t be able to use c++ VEXcode Text for IQ bots until it is released.

Old Post

I’d second that you should go with PROS instead of VEXcode.

• PROS is based off of the Atom text editor, which was written by GitHub, so it has excellent support for Git version control (which is definitely something you should be using to keep track of your team’s code).
  • PROS also supports using an external editor. Write your code in any editor you see fit, run the industry-standard make command to compile, and then upload using the prosv5 command.