New to teaching VEX-any help would be much appreciated

Hello everyone,

I am new to teaching VEX robotics, as well as teaching at the High School level. I have tried to find some type of roadmap to guide me in trying to come up with a suitable curriculum focused on VEX robotics, with very little success. If anyone would be willing to help, I would be extremely grateful. Once again, thank you in advance for any help.

My teacher started us off with a “cook book” claw bot to help introduce robotics to us. The claw bot helps to teach the basic fundamentals of vex robotics in my opinion as a student. I’m not in any position to offer advise on a curriculum, though.

This really helped us learn the basics with the vex curriculum here: http://curriculum.vexrobotics.com .

My opinion would be to start off with only 3-5 people on the team if you want to be competitive. you can also look at other threads on the forum for help on what to buy on a budget. I don’t think there is much of a “road map” worth following. I would start with a claw bot, then have them build there own driving bot or add onto the claw bot using there own ideas. most people on this forum would agree with me that the best “curriculum” is to let the students learn themselves by building and programming the robots from there own ideas. They will be more motivated this way and consequently go a lot further in robotics. if you have a larger class, or more than 7 people on the team, give them a simple challenge or help them think of a small goal based off of this years game Nothing but Net even if they are not going to compete. don’t give them all the ideas or tell them what to build. help guide them when they are having problems and keep them thinking.

maybe we can help you more if you enlighten us more about your class/team.

Hope that helps,