VRC Gear Drive Fusion 360

Hi! I’m pretty new to CAD and I’m building my team’s VRC robot in Fusion 360.

Our robot has a gear drive, but I can’t seem to get the inserts into the gears using joints. Is there an easier way to get the inserts into the gears? I also am having trouble lining the teeth on the gears up correctly. I have been looking around for YouTube tutorials as well, but I can’t seem to find any, so if you know of one that involves using gears in Fusion 360, that would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

If you double click to highlight your insert, you can hit theimage button to set a custom pivot after hitting M to move it. Now, click the face you want to have an insert against to move it. Repeat it again to get it fully aligned, and do it for the final time to move it into the hole completely. I’ll make another post in a second with more pictures.

1 Like

Alright, here’s a step by step way to do it. This works for any part in general, not just placing the insert in a gear or wheel.

Fig. 1:

Insert is horribly malaligned.

Fig. 2:

After highlighting your part, hit the button I mentioned in the previous post. Click on the face you want to align, and hit the green check mark on the right.

Fig. 3:

Now, drag the part a bit towards your desired direction to tell fusion 360 which way you’re going.

Click the face you want to move it to. The image above shows that fusion automatically moved it to match your selected face with the face you clicked.

NOTE: You may need to do the previous steps twice to get the insert fully aligned as it might be off on the x and y axis.

Fig. 4:

Highlight the part again, and set the pivot on the face again. This time, you set the pivot on the face that’s facing towards the gear. This is the final step where we put the insert into the gear.

Fig. 5:

Hit the green checkmark, and move the part slightly towards the gear. After you finish all of that, click the face again. Boom! You have a perfectly placed insert.