Need help with a rules clarification before going to Worlds. On Saturday at the US Open we had a robot get tipped over in the Quarterfinal Match. Here was the situation…Our robot is a double puncher and had 2 balls loaded ready to shoot. They were lining up with the center flags and were positioning themselves in front of the blue platform to take the shot. The opposing alliance came from their left side and shoved them towards the blue starting tiles. So we were in no way driving at the other robot. In the process they slammed our robot against the other opponent and flipped our robot onto it’s back. We were in the act of scoring so we were clearly the offensive robot.
Referees at first ruled that they could not tell we were playing offense.
Referees ruled that they “could not tell” if the other team intended to flip our robot.
Referees eventually agreed that we were in an offensive position.
According to and our students and other coaches felt that the opposing robot should have been penalized. We obviously can’t change the call at this point, but would like to know if this was ruled correctly so we can be prepared for Worlds.
Our robot has had plenty of shoving this season as they are 4 time tournament champions and State Champions. This was the first time another robot has flipped them over so it’s not a design that is easily flipped in case you are wondering if the robot was built tippy.