How to improve building

I am in my second year of doing VRC at my school and I only have one year left. I have noticed many teams have amazing robots that have a very clean look. I was wondering how people improve their building to this point. I do spend a long time making things look better so it is not only the amount of time spent on building. Is this just something that comes with experience or is there a certain way to build better?

I’ve seen second-year teams with amazing build quality before. IMO, it depends on how much time you put into it and repetition. Don’t be afraid to rebuild. Also, here’s a thread that would help you. What makes something good build quality?

2 Likes

I would definitely spend sometime making the chassis parallel, low friction and symmetrical. Then follow common physics principles like triangle reinforcements, box bracing, adding tensioners. Watch a ton of videos for reference and don’t be afraid to copy ideas to make your mechanisms better. Don’t be afraid to cut, drill and make custom parts if necessary. Use tools to make sure things are parallel, 90 deg,…Also it depends on the resources available to your team, some teams have tons of materials at their disposal and it makes building easier.

5 Likes

I’ve been building for like 5 years now and everything I make is mad jank. I was the main builder for the longest time ever, and just recently I got involved in the notebook and found a co-builder to relieve the building pressure. The best way to build a clean and functional is to plan everything out before you do it. Even a basic sketch in the notebook is two birds with one stone. Contributing in the notebook and having a basic idea of the end goal.